Matt Dawson presents at the Service Excellence Awards 2018

Service Excellence Awards 2018

Time 145 days ago Comments 0 comments

Service stars from around the UK & Ireland business enjoyed a fantastic day at Ascot Racecourse yesterday (26 September) as the business celebrated the winners of 2018’s Service Excellence Awards.

The awards, this year held as part of the Sodexo Live event, honoured the dedication of our customer-facing teams and their commitment to living the Sodexo values.

Cleaners, fitness instructors, helpdesk operators, gardeners, security officers, engineers, kitchen porters, safety champions and tech services employees all gathered as the winners and runners-up were awarded with trophies and Recognising You points by Sodexo ambassador Matt Dawson.

Matt hosted the event alongside regional chairman Sean Haley and members of the regional leadership committee (RLC).

Sean’s opening words stressed the important role our people play in Sodexo’s success.  He said: “You are the face of our business – the ones who embody service spirit every day. Quality of Life is the one thing that truly sets us apart from our competitors. While the competition focuses on the technical delivery of services, we’re focused on delivering outcomes. It’s the impact of what we do that matters.”

RLC members including Justice Services CEO Janine McDowell, Defence & Government Services CEO Paul Anstey and Sports & Leisure CEO Chris Bray then announced the winners and runners up (see the full list below).

Key highlights of the day were:

  • A new Special Recognition Team Award, presented to two outstanding teams – security and switchboard – from Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust.
  • Joint Portering Team of the Year winners, Wythenshawe Hospital and Central Manchester Hospitals.

Both awards honoured the professionalism, dedication, team spirit and compassion shown in the distressing aftermath of the terrorist incident at the Ariana Grande concert at the Manchester Arena in May.

The Kathy Ridgard Award, presented in honour of Kathy – who was director of Sodexo’s Centre of Excellence before sadly losing her battle with cancer in February 2013 – went to food services assistant Sam Stacey from North Devon District Hospital. She caught the eye of the judges with her ability to always bring a smile to patients’ faces.

Sam said: “Hospitals can be daunting places. If spending a little time with people helps them feel more relaxed then that makes me happy. I can go home every day knowing I’ve made a difference.”

Head to the dedicated Service Excellence Awards page for profiles of some of the 2018 winners, plus all the pictures from the event.

Here’s the full list of all our 2018 winners and runners up:

The Kathy Ridgard Award

Food Service Assistant of the Year

Sam Stacey, North Devon District Hospital

Special Recognition Team Award

Security and Switchboard teams, Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust

Cleaner of the Year

Winner: Roseleen Browne, Seagate Springtown in Derry

Runner up: Alan Wilson, HMP Addiewell

Cleaning Team of the Year

Winner: Ballina Beverages

Runner up: Nestlé Tutbury

Healthworks Club of the Year

Winner: MBDA Stevenage

Runner up: PayPal Dublin

Fitness Instructor of the Year

Winner: Pam Ingham, Unilever Port Sunlight

Runner up: Tim Martin, Shell, Strand

Helpdesk Operative of the Year

Winner: Petra Csanalosi, City University

Runner up: Elizabeth Longworth, HMP Peterborough

Helpdesk Team of the Year

Winner: Unilever Port Sunlight

Runner up: Ministry of Justice Command Centre, Thorpe Park in Leeds

Horticultural Services Operative of the Year

Winner: Scott Jackson, Wakefield Depot at Wakefield Housing Association Runner up: Stephen Whitty, Warrington Housing Association

Horticultural Services Team of the Year

Winner: Unilever Port Sunlight

Runners up: Stone Water Housing Team

Security Officer of the Year

Winner: Eliana Hague, Coca-Cola European Partners at Wakefield

Runner up: Ciran Morgan, P&G at Newbridge

Security Team of the Year

Winner: Queen’s Hospital, Romford

Runner up: Nestlé Tutbury

Prison Officer of the Year

Winner: Abby Barclay, HMP Forest Bank

Runner up: Toni Upham, HMP Northumberland

Community Justice Employee of the Year

Winner: Pauline Pickford, Essex CRC

Runners up: Alexandra Morren and Kevin Lamb, Northumbria CRC

Hard FM Operative of the Year

Winner: Richard Brown, HMP Peterborough

Runner up: Daniel Walker, Unilever Port Sunlight

Hard FM Team of the Year

Winner: Astra Zeneca, Alderley Park

Runner up: PayPal Dublin and Dundalk

Food Services Assistant of the Year

Winner: Sam Stacey, North Devon Hospital

Runner up: Julie Davis, Swinton Barracks at Perham Down

Kitchen Porter of the Year

Winner: Rudra Pun, Mooltan Diner at Tidworth Garrison

Runner up: Anthony Soutar, CTC Lympstone

Hospitality Assistant of the Year

Winner: Sonia Mason, Mooltan and Lucknow Officers Mess at Tidworth Garrison

Runner up: Oscar Garcia, The Crystal, London

Receptionist of the Year

Winner: Donna Bratley, Unilever Port Sunlight

Runner up: Pat Marshall, Storthes Hall Park, Huddersfield

Reception Team of the Year

Winner: Front-of-house team, Unilever Leatherhead

Runner up: Gates and visits team, HMP Northumberland

Porter of the Year

Winner: Faye Warrington, Unilever R&D Port Sunlight

Runner up: Dean Hogarth, Queen’s Hospital Romford

Portering Team of the Year

Winners: Wythenshawe Hospital and Central Manchester Hospitals

Runner up: St. Mary’s Hospital

Health and Safety Champion

Winner: Khagendra Gauchan, Ward Barracks Allenby Connaught

Runner up: Jamie Lynex, Royal Stoke University Hospital

Waste Management Operative of the Year

Winner: Steven Spowart, HMP Addiewell

Runner up: David Larsson, HMP Forest Bank

Waste Management Team of the Year

Winner: BAE Systems

Runner up: Nestlé Tutbury

Technician of the Year

Winner: Mike Finn, Eli Lilly, Kinsale

Runner up: Anne Adams, GSK Ulverston

Scientific Services Team of the Year

Winner: GSK Irvine

Runner up: Eli Lilly, Kinsale


Share this story About sharing

Send to Kindle


Say it in a different way

Say it in a different way

New cards are now available on Recognising You - share the good feeling!

Toether through Brexit

Together through Brexit

With 51 days to Brexit, Sean Haley, regional chair UK & Ireland, releases an update on behalf of the Regional Leadership Committee and the Brexit Taskforce

Sodexo Black Banner

Brumadinho Minas Gerais dam Tragedy in Brazil

Statement from Sodexo on the Brumadinho Minas Gerais dam tragedy in Brazil


Are you plant powered?

Get plant powered with the new Veg Power campaign and see why Sodexo is committed to healthy lifestyles for all!

Pride Netwokrk Event

Empowering Pride at Sodexo

On the week LGBT History Month starts, a Sodexo UK & Ireland Pride network event welcomed award winning Pips Bunce, to tell their personal story of being gender fluid and the importance of LGBT+ inclusion in business

Recognising You Birthday

Happy 1st Birthday Recognising You!

Recognising You turns one year old this week, celebrating a year since the Sodexo recognition platform was launched in January 2018

Sodexo Chef of the Year 2019

The results are in and senior sous chef Andy Voice has been crowned Sodexo Chef of the Year at the 2019 Foodservice Show

Carly’s challenge - Springboard Trek 2019

Carly’s challenge - Springboard Trek 2019

This year, Carly from Corporate Services is taking on the challenge of a lifetime and participating in the 2019 Springboard Trek to Borneo

Your Lucky Number

Your Lucky Number Christmas bonanza

On 24 December, the winners of the Your Lucky Number special draw were announced!